Milano, 13th January 2004

Banca Intesa’s Ordinary Shareholders’ Meeting, held today and chaired by Giovanni Bazoli, set to 23 the number of members who make up the Board of Directors and appointed the following Directors: Giovanni Ancarani, Francesco Arcucci, Giovanni Bazoli, Benito Benedini, Antoine Bernheim, Giampio Bracchi, René Carron, Jean-Frédéric De Leusse, Alfonso Desiata, Ariberto Fassati, Giancarlo Forestieri, Paolo Fumagalli, Jorge Manuel Jardim Gonçalves, Jean Laurent, Michel Le Masson, Giangiacomo Nardozzi, Corrado Passera, Eugenio Pavarani, Giovanni Perissinotto, Mariano Riestra, Sandro Salvati, Eric Strutz, Gino Trombi. On the basis of the information currently available to the company and the declarations previously made by the members concerned,  the following Directors can be considered independent: Ancarani, Arcucci, Benedini, Bracchi, Fumagalli, Nardozzi and Pavarani.

The Board of Directors which met today at the end of the Shareholders’ Meeting appointed Giovanni Bazoli as Chairman, Giampio Bracchi and René Carron as Deputy Chairmen, Corrado Passera as Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer.

The Board also appointed the members of the Executive Committee, which is made up of the Chairman, the Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, Giampio Bracchi, Ariberto Fassati, Giancarlo Forestieri and Mariano Riestra.

In addition, the Board appointed the members of the Remuneration Commission, which is made up of the Chairman, the Directors Giampio Bracchi and Gino Trombi and the Chairman of the Board of Statutory Auditors Gianluca Ponzellini.