History of the mergers that led to the creation of the Intesa Sanpaolo Group

Ancient image od Cà de Sass, the headquarter of Intesa Sanpaolo in Milan

Intesa Sanpaolo Spa was created on 1 January 2007 through the merger of Banca Intesa and Sanpaolo IMI.

Intesa Sanpaolo is the result of the merging of over 300 institutions of various kinds - savings banks, pawnshops, rural banks, popular banks, ordinary credit companies, Catholic banks, public law entities, banks of national interest - scattered in over 189 Italian locations.

The Bank's large-scale and its territorial roots are combined in the value of respect for specificities qualities, thanks to which the Bank operates with a broad vision, without losing sight of individuals while setting the goal of continuous improvement, anticipating challenges and aiming for innovation.

Intesa Sanpaolo promotes a style of growth attentive to capital and financial solidity, the sustainability of results over time and the satisfaction of customers and shareholders and proximity to the needs of the country and territories.

In 2012 began the territorial reorganisation the Umbrian banks and, at the same time, a brand reorganisation strategy resulting in a simplification of the operating structure.

In 2013 the merger by incorporation of Banca dell’Adriatico into Cassa di Risparmio di Ascoli Piceno gave rise to the new Banca dell'Adriatico which would then be merged into Intesa Sanpaolo three years later.

To strengthen growth capacity, in 2014, the Cassa di Risparmio di Venezia and the Banca di Credito Sardo were incorporated into Intesa Sanpaolo, followed by the Banca di Trento and Bolzano, Banca Monte Parma, the Cassa di Risparmio of the Province of Viterbo, Cassa di Risparmio di Rieti and Cassa di Risparmio of Civitavecchia the following year.

In 2016, Banca 5 was created through the acquisition of 100% of Banca ITB.

After the acquisition of the Veneto banks, in 2018 Intesa Sanpaolo merges Banca Nuova S.p.A., Cassa di Risparmio del Veneto S.p.A. by merger. and Cassa di Risparmio del Friuli-Venezia Giulia S.p.A., Cassa dei Risparmi di Forlì and Romagna S.p.A. and the Banco di Napoli.

In the period 2019-2020, the process of incorporation of the Group banks ended with the merger of Banca CR Firenze SpA, Cassa di Risparmio into Bologna SpA, Cassa di Risparmio of Pistoia and Lucchesia SpA, Banca Apulia SpA, Banca Prossima SpA and Banca IMI.

In February 2020, Intesa Sanpaolo announced a public tender offer for UBI Banca shares, thus opening a new chapter in Group’s history.

Thanks to this operation, a new leader in Europe in sustainable and inclusive growth will be created.